Al Jefferson’s refreshing take on the big money

Chalk up another good character guy.  While it’s hard for me or any average person to relate to the $65 million that Al Jefferson will get over the next five years, it’s nice to see him express some modesty about the money.

Jefferson is probably the best player that the Celtics sent to Minnesota in the Kevin Garnett deal and on the eve of the new era with the Timbewolves he signed for half of what Garnett got 10 years ago, a deal that some say was the impetus for the ugly lockout in 1998.

The story in the Star Tribune  calls him a throwback that your old and worn out Moses Malone jersey.  His take on the money is also a throwback considering he could have played like Malone and parlayed that into maximum money.

And to further illustrate his point he said the  following:

“I wanted to get in my head, get in my heart that I’m going to be here. “They traded for me. They traded one of the best players in the NBA for me. I felt this is where I needed to be. This is where I want to be.” (quote attributed to the Minneapolis Star Tribune)

“I didn’t even think I was worth max (money) this year anyway,” “I would’ve been a fool to go up there and ask for max, having not really proved myself for that. So the number I got was the number that was my goal from Day 1. And I think it was a win, win situation.”  (quote attributed to AP).

And in this day of trying to figure out where the disgruntled Kobe Bryant is headed, it’s nice to hear.  The Timberwolves might not be very good but Jefferson is worth a look.

Leave a Reply

